Oven-Roasted Chicken

Oven-roasted chicken, mmmmm, those words conjure certain smells and tastes just reading (or typing) them. Until a couple of months ago, I had never roasted a whole chicken. I’ve baked chicken pieces, but not left it whole to cook in the oven for a few hours. It intimidated me. The “eww” factor of handling a whole, raw chicken and what I might find inside made my toes curl. But in talking with a good friend and learning how she uses an entire chicken for many meals and making broth, I decided to get over myself.  It was time to add it to my repertoire.

Roasted Chicken  (from photopin.com see description for info)

Roasted Chicken
(photo credit: madlyinlovewithlife via photopin cc )

Now, how to roast a chicken easily?  I’m not all about prepping an item for 30 minutes with that amount of ingredients or baby-sitting it to baste every 20 minutes.  No thank you.  Enter my Google search and various results.  I found this wonderful web site and its recipe for roast chicken.  I’ve made it three times now, and each one turned out just right. Their explanations are simple with helpful pictures.

http://www.finecooking.com/articles/how-to/roast-chicken-start-to-finish.aspx

I use softened butter and season with:  seasoned salt, a little black pepper, dried rosemary, garlic powder, and some dried minced onion.

The leftovers are great for chicken salad and for creating chicken fried rice for dinner a couple of nights later.

Do you roast chicken?  What seasonings does your family enjoy?

One thought on “Oven-Roasted Chicken

  1. How funny. Great minds think alike, I suppose, because I made roast chicken only a couple of nights ago. The bones are in the crock pot turning to broth as we speak! Sometimes, for a lazy shortcut, I use softened butter, salt, pepper, and poultry seasoning. Glad to know that suggestion helped!

Leave a Reply

