Pineapple Chicken (Slow Cooker)

I’m making this tonight. It sounds yummy and different from our typical fare. I’ve added some minced garlic (1 teaspoon) and cut the recipe in half. Here is the link to the original recipe with pictures.

crockpot pineapple chicken

The gist:

The ingredients are: chicken breasts, soy sauce, chopped onion, chicken broth, & a can of pineapple. (I added some garlic.)

Directions: Put it all in the crock pot and cook on Low or High, depending on the time you have.  Serve with rice and a veggie.

My chicken is frozen, so I’m cooking on high for at least 4 hours and may change to low for the last 2 hours.  I hope it’s as yummy as it sounds. 🙂

**a few hours later . . . .

We agree that it is pretty good, but not fabulous.  I overcooked the chicken; I should have just left it on low after the first hour for the afternoon.  Pairing it with sticky rice and broccoli was a good idea.  I added some cornstarch to thicken the sauce a bit since it was very thin.

Also, you know how if you smell something cooking all day, you’re really not hungry for it at dinner time?  Well, this is one of those recipes.  Best to head out of the house for a couple of hours towards the end of cooking.

Will I make this again?  Probably.  Is it on our favorite meals list?  No.

2 thoughts on “Pineapple Chicken (Slow Cooker)

Leave a Reply

