Book Review: Simply Delicious Amish Cooking by Sherry Gore

Simply Delicious Amish Cooking is a collection of recipes and stories from an Amish community in Sarasota, Florida.  It has a variety of recipes (lots of desserts!), and the stories provide insight into the daily lives of the Amish.

The recipes are for good, simple food.  There isn’t anything fancy, and most ingredients are already in your kitchen.  I was surprised to see many recipes use processed foods (canned cream of ___ soup, Velveeta, etc.).  Since I avoid using those, and anything with a lot of sugar, this limits the recipes available to me in general.  That said, there are recipes that offer a fresher choice.  See the Pinecraft Winter Salad on page 79.  Also, I know this will be a go-to source for a great dessert to share with others.

The book is spiral-bound and lays flat, which is helpful in the kitchen, and the included pictures are mouth-watering.  I thought the cover would be a little sturdier, though. The first recipe (Honey Wheat Bread) has a typo.  The ingredients list says 1/4 cup of flour, but the instructions have 1/2 cup listed.   I don’t know which is correct, but would like to find out.

I give this a 3 out of 5 star rating because there are many recipes I will not use.  I am glad to have it as part of my collection for the stories and the simple options that you don’t find in every book.

Full disclosure for FTC purposes: I received a free copy of this book from Booksneeze.com in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

