Book Review ~ Psalm 23 by Richard Jesse Watson

Using the text from the King James Version of the Bible, Richard Jesse Watson illustrates the 23rd Psalm of “The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want” in a board book format for children. Without preamble, the reader opens the book to begin the psalm. There is one picture and page set for every 1 to 2 lines of the psalm, which is written in its entirety on the last page of the book.

The illustrations bring the words to life and help the reader understand their meanings. In keeping with the shepherd concept, there is a lamb included in each illustration. While the KJV is not my favorite, the pictures are lovely, colorful, and charming without being gaudy. The child-like innocence and trust comes through. Our 3 year old son likes it, and I recommend it for toddlers through young elementary age.

Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the Book Look Bloggers program in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own, and they are not required to be positive.

I review for BookLook Bloggers

Click here to read my other reviews.

Leave a Reply

